“The Stars and Stripes Forever…” Fourth of July comments:

A few days ago I wrote about “Remembrance” of our fellow Americans who defended our Freedom and way of life. I like to share with you. Some comments about how life can change when others are sicken by disease. Because of my roommates step brother admission to the local hospital this past week. I am now dog sitting ! Talk about adjusting the daily routine ? Luckily some neighbor’s are more familiar with Jake and have been very helpful. I appreciate their effort and support.

About “The Stars and Stripes Forever….

One of the emotions I feel when listening to John Philip Souza’s “The Stars and Stripes Forever” is the brass instruments playing (at 01:21) and leading into the piccolo solo at (02:00). About how inspiring and patriotic I felt as a child; and more so in my adult years. As I had struggled with the PTSD challenges, and finding closure.
This instrumental has more meaning for me, especially after I finished the film; in May 2012.

I’ll get to the point: Why is it that our National March brings all American’s together during Independence Day. That our pride swells as a nation ? Is it the fact we’re all descendents of those who fought against tyranny? Or is it because it is what it is ?

Why is it the freedom we cherish and those who make the ultimate sacrifice are juxtaposition so neatly that we as a nation since the American Revolutionary War are indifferent to our military members after military conflict. I feel it is the leadership of our nation since 1787 that dictates when we go to war. Yes, I understand there are citizens who don’t want war, as there are those who are indifferent and that we should be isolationist. Then we have those who will defend our country when duty is called. And yet, we leave our veterans alone to fight for their rights to medical, mental and higher education? I have read about these different aspects of our nature, as written by historians. Is this characteristic of many nations?

I Welcome your feedback.


Thank You,

Mark

About pleiku1970

My service at Pleiku, 1970 is significient because of the Cambodian Incursion. Close proximity to exit routes from the Ho Chi Minh Trail and the "Tri-Border area of Laos,Cambodia and Vietnam. This Air Force assignment was different than most, because of the isolation.
This entry was posted in Vietnam Service and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

