The weekend in Denver… ambivance(?) , filled with mixed emotions.

WW II, Vietnam

Proud World War II, veteran, Uncle, Aunt.

Sept. 2012, Honor & Privilage to meet.

Sept. 2012, Honor & Privilage to meet.

Before Sunday is over, I wanted to share a couple of pictures of Marine Captain wounded by IED in Afghanstian and my uncle Philip. I met PJ through an event hosted by Homes for our Troops, Brighton, Colorado; Sept. 2012.

My uncle Philip, his wife and I took this picture together in Plains, Montana, August 2010. He passed away Thanksgiving morning, he was 94.

My uncle is veteran of the 99th Infantry Division, who participated in the Battle of the Bulge. He was wounded and lost a leg. The 99th Infantry Divisiion went on and liberated the Subcamps at Dachu concentration camp complex.

These are only some of the personal experiences that quickly come to mind. About Sacrifice, Honor, Freedom we preserve. Though I was not physically wounded, PTSD did from very close calls as a perimeter guard at Pleiku airebase.

About the mixed emotions… my friend Sue Parr (Air Force dependent)and I took a walk around Washington Park, Sunday morning. We were talking about film making, her fathers service with the Air Force of 26 years. I was wearing T-shirt from Homes for our Troops, and Air Force Veteran baseball cap with embroidered service ribbons along with label pins from 1st Air Cavalry,7th Air Force, and 101st Airborne Division.

After we finished our walk, we drove to a local resturant for a late breakfast. I mention to her not one person said “Thank You !” The waitress at the resturant did and throughout the day some people would acknowledge but no one uttered a word. I did meet a Marine veteran, retiree and traded handshakes and Welcome Home !

I wondered has society here in Denver become too busy with themselves and take the Sacrifices made by others since World War II to present day with a “ho hum” attitude?

About pleiku1970

My service at Pleiku, 1970 is significient because of the Cambodian Incursion. Close proximity to exit routes from the Ho Chi Minh Trail and the "Tri-Border area of Laos,Cambodia and Vietnam. This Air Force assignment was different than most, because of the isolation.
This entry was posted in Vietnam Service and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

