May 7th, 1970 –

The day after the Kent State news, Tiger Flight airmen reported for duty without incident. The day was filled with tension and us airmen manned our tower and bunker positions. What did happen was the rocket attack , that occurred that day. My friend Jerry told me the rounds hit the area where the US Army had bivouac. Apparently the North Vietnamese Army was out to inflicte causalities. Luckily, they were a day late. The remainder of the day was quiet…

I am re-reading the letters sent to my parents about my tour and mention to them I had started learning photography. When I had time off, I would go to the hobby center that had a black room. There I learn to develop black and white photos.

Some to the photos were stolen in Seattle around 1985 from a storage locker that contained my photo album. However, I have some of the negatives and a proof sheet. The photos are of the base and members of Tiger Flight, along with a couple of pictures taken from a tower position. I’ll have to look for that photo and post it to the blog.

About pleiku1970

My service at Pleiku, 1970 is significient because of the Cambodian Incursion. Close proximity to exit routes from the Ho Chi Minh Trail and the "Tri-Border area of Laos,Cambodia and Vietnam. This Air Force assignment was different than most, because of the isolation.
This entry was posted in Vietnam Service and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

