April 30th, 1975….

April 30th, 1975….

How many of us remember what happen 38 years ago?? Do you remember what you were doing that day? Some of us were still in uniform and so much had changed. Some of us got out when our enlistment, commission or retirement came around.
I remember that day… I had finished working in Air Operations dispatch day shift; Eielson AFB, AK. I stopped by the chow hall for dinner. That afternoon, the sun was out and as I approached the chow hall heard afternoon taps and lowering of the flag. Snapping to attention toward the direction of the music… I became depressed. How the war had changed from 1970 to 1973. It felt like we were just going through the motions, especially during 1972-73.

I though how happy the anti war people would be celebrating and they didn’t that day or any day after that. They had vilified us for serving our country. Of course I could go on. However as I approached and entered chow hall and looked at the airmen. Most had not served in country; they didn’t have a connection as I did. My connection was to air crew’s, their mechanics, and ordnance guys, regardless of their branch of service.

I think we felt a number of mixed emotions that day…

Tomorrow… May 1, 1970 the prelude to Operation Tame the West begins.

About pleiku1970

My service at Pleiku, 1970 is significient because of the Cambodian Incursion. Close proximity to exit routes from the Ho Chi Minh Trail and the "Tri-Border area of Laos,Cambodia and Vietnam. This Air Force assignment was different than most, because of the isolation.
This entry was posted in Vietnam Service and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

