5 years ago in Washington D.C. , 2007 – Veterans Day weekend.

This morning I awoke early in the Denver metro area and looked out my window. Clouds and the wind are present. This reminded me of what I was doing that Saturday morning five years ago. Veterans I did not know traveled together on the “Metro” to the La Fante` district. To witness the Opening Ceremony for the Veterans Day parade.
That morning the cool air, and the sun peeking out occasionally was something all of us measured against what we endured during the Monsoon season.
That day for me was life changing… recording speeches; like Paul Bucha closing remarks. Or filming the entire Veterans Day Parade, to gather again at “The Wall.” While widows, son’s and daughters, and service members read aloud the names of those we remember today ! Or the reunions and friends I made that day.
So many great things came about that day; because of the right reasons. I knew I was onto something…. That would be our history preserved in the present. Yet most American’s don’t know of the film, tell them about all our veterans who serve.
They give so much for all of us with their sacrifice that comes in many ways. Every night since 2008 since I started nightly prayers.
I learned something’s about myself and as I give Thanks to God.
Part of the prayer is : God thank you for the life experiences and lessons learned. Because of:
COMPASSION, PATIENCE.. UNDERSTANDING, FORGIVENESS they bring about: HEALING, HOPE and LOVE ! I ask that my fellow veterans who are isolated, and ill may embrace these virtues. I was told by a deacon, part of what your referring to is in Corinthians of the Bible.
I told him I didn’t know that. I also told him, now I know why I’m here ….. to help others first.
Thank You,

About pleiku1970

My service at Pleiku, 1970 is significient because of the Cambodian Incursion. Close proximity to exit routes from the Ho Chi Minh Trail and the "Tri-Border area of Laos,Cambodia and Vietnam. This Air Force assignment was different than most, because of the isolation.
This entry was posted in Vietnam Service and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

